Back to Reptiles
Wild Nature Images


Lizards, Amphisbaenas, and Snakes (Squamata)


The scaled reptiles are distinguished by their skins, covered with horny scales or shields. The order includes three sub-orders: the lizards (Lacertilia), the worm lizards or amphisbaenas (Amphisbaenia), and the snakes (Serpentes). The Squamata are by far the largest order of living reptiles, containing over 10,100 species or 96.5% of all contemporary reptiles.


Tab 3
Tab 2